Australian Poetry Slam

The Australian Poetry Slam is a national competition for spoken word artists. Anyone can enter. In 2017, 50 heats will be held in towns, cities and suburbs hold slam heats, in state and territory of Australia. Cafe's, libraries, festivals, community halls, pubs and clubs host these events. Audiences award scores to each poet. The favourite poet from each heat is eligible to compete at a regional or state poetry slam final. The best from each state and territory travel to Sydney, to perform for a packed out audience at the National Final. The national slam champion wins prizes and professional gigs.

New South Wales 2015 Heats

Could you be Australia's Next Slam Champion? 

NSW Contact



Friday 2 October, 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Newcastle Regional Final at National Young Writers Festival

Winners from the 4 previous slams within the Central Coast region meet for the Newcastle Regional Final. 16 amazing poets from Charlestown, Maitland, Gosford and Newcastle will go head to head vying for a spot at the NSW Final. Hosted by Newcastle Library and National Young Writers Festival

 Newcastle LIbrary

 Laman Street, Newcastle

 Admission is free

Winners - Phoebe Carter-Swain, Rebekah Wilson, Marie McMillan and Suzy Monzer.


Friday 9 October, 8:00 pm – 10:00 pm

NSW Final

In the biggest NSW final ever, a whopping 20 of the best and most fresh spoken-wordsmiths from across NSW rock the mic solo and acapella with poetry, stories, lyrics and monologues. They hail from Byron Bay, Wagga Wagga, Newcastle, Kempsey and everywhere in between! The audience will choose two artists to leap into the Australian Poetry Slam National Final at Sydney Opera House on Sunday 11 October at 7:00 pm.

Host will be announced shortly.

Please note: The event is general admission and seats are first in, best dressed. Arrive early to snap up a spot! This event sells out quickly.

 Sydney Dance Lounge

 Pier 4/5 Hickson Rd. Walsh Bay

 $30 General Admission

Winners - Philip Wilcox and Troy Wong.


NSW Heats


Thursday 18 June

7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)

Katoomba Library

Blue Mountains Cultural Centre

30 Parke St

Contact: Vicki Edmunds -

Winners - Ivan Radix and Tez MacQuillan.


Byron Bay

Saturday 8 August

6:00 pm (Registration at 5:30 pm)

Byron Bay Library

Corner of Lawson and Middleton Streets

Contact: Brenda Anderson -

Winners - Otto Egan, Chad Kolcze and Tug Dumbly.



Thursday 27 August

7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)

Civic Theatre, Hurstville Entertainment Centre

16 MacMahon St

Contact: Julieanne Rae -

Winners - Chris Fung and Troy Wong.



Wednesday 9 September

8:00 pm (Registration at 7:30 pm)

Exodus Youth Wrox Granville Drop In Centre

32/10 Straits Ave, South Granville

Contact: Nancy Louka -

Winners - Anthony Hanna, Lewis-Alan Trathen and Philip Wilcox.



Tuesday 15 September

Slam: 6:00 pm (Registration 5:30 pm)

Workshop: 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Charlestown LIbrary

Corner of Smith and Ridley Streets

Contact: Martina Clark -

Winners - Alex Martin, Larissa Redondo, Peter Oliver and Gillian Swain.



Wednesday 16 September

Slam: 6:00 pm (Registration at 5:30 pm)

Workshop: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Maitland Library

480 High Street

Contact: Debra Southwell -

Winners - Phoebe Carter-Swain, Jamil Carter-Swain, Carl Williams and Samuel Rayfield.



Thursday 17 September

Slam: 5:00 pm (Registration at 4:30 pm)

Workshop: 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Erina LIbrary

Erina Fair Shopping Centre, Terrigal Drive

Contact: Sharon Drayton -

Winners - Marie McMillan, Suzy Monzer, Janice Stark and Rebekah Wilson.



Friday 18 September

Slam 5:00 pm (Registration 4:30 pm)

Kempsey LIbrary

Elbow Street & Tozer Street

Contact: Alison Pope -

Winners - Samantha Turnbull and Bruce MacKenzie.


Wagga Wagga

Friday 18 September

Slam 7:00 pm (Registration 6:30 pm)

William Farrer Hotel

Corner of Peter & Edwards Streets

Contact: Katie Dunn -

Winners - Jo Wilson-Ridley and Zoe Beaumont.



Wednesday 23 September

7:00 pm (Registration 6:30 pm)

The Royal Exchange

34 Bolton Street

N.B $5.00 entry fee

Contact: Alex Morris -

Winners - Janett Hoppe, Robert Edmunds, Catherine Knight and Geoff Nichols.



Tuesday 6 October

7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)

Friend In Hand Hotel

58 Cowper St

N.B $10.00 entry fee

Contact: Jack Peck -

Winners - Sara Salehh and Eden Riley.