Australian Poetry Slam

The Australian Poetry Slam is a national competition for spoken word artists. Anyone can enter. In 2017, 50 heats will be held in towns, cities and suburbs hold slam heats, in state and territory of Australia. Cafe's, libraries, festivals, community halls, pubs and clubs host these events. Audiences award scores to each poet. The favourite poet from each heat is eligible to compete at a regional or state poetry slam final. The best from each state and territory travel to Sydney, to perform for a packed out audience at the National Final. The national slam champion wins prizes and professional gigs.

New South Wales Heats 2016

Could you be Australia's next Slam Champion? 

NSW Contact
Lorin Elizabeth
Email: lorin@wordtravels.info

 

KATOOMBA

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Thursday 16th June
7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)
Venue: Katoomba Library
Blue Mountains Cultural Centre
30 Parke St, Katoomba
Contact: Vicki Edmunds - vedmunds@bmcc.nsw.gov.au
Website: http://www.bmcc.nsw.gov.au/yourcommunity/library

 

Byron Bay

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Saturday 6th August
5:30 pm (Registration at 5:00 pm)
Venue: Byron Bay Library
Corner of Lawson and Middleton Streets, Byron Bay
Contact: Sarah Ma - sarah@byronwritersfestival.com
Website: http://byronwritersfestival.com/ 
Register: http://byronwritersfestival.com/festival-2016/tickets/

Workshop:

Wednesday 3rd August 9:30am-12:30pm, Byron Community College
Eastpoint Arcade, 107 Jonson Street, Byron Bay   Tickets

 

Coffs Harbour

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Wednesday 10th August
6:00 pm (Registration at 5:30 pm)
Venue: Coffs Harbour City Library
Corner of Coff & Duke Streets, Coffs Harbour
Contact: Skye Ravenscroft - skye.ravenscroft@chcc.nsw.gov.au
Website: libraries.coffsharbour.nsw.gov.au

 

Moree

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Friday 19th August
4:00 pm (Registration at 3:30 pm)
Venue: Moree Community Library
36 Balo Street, Moree
Contact: Samantha Geatches - samantha.geatches@mpsc.nsw.gov.au
Website: http://bsl.nsw.gov.au/

Workshops:

Thursday 18th August 12:00-2:00pm, Walgett Library, 88 Fox StWalgett
Thursday 18th August 3:30-5:30pm, Lightning Ridge Library, 50 Pandora St Lightning Ridge
Friday 19th August 1:00-3:00pm, Moree Community Library, 36 Balo Street, Moree

 

Canada Bay

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Friday 2nd September
7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)
Venue: Concord Library Library
60 Flavelle St, Concord NSW
Contact: Claude Broomhead - Claude.Broomhead@canadabay.nsw.gov.au
Website: www.canadabay.nsw.gov.au

Workshop:

Friday 26th August 6:00 - 8:00pm, Five Dock Library, 4-12 Garfield St, Five Dock NSW

 

Newcastle

Supported by Newcastle Region Library and the National Young Writers Festival

Featuring Word Hurl Anti-Slamers - David and Alex

Wednesday 7th September
7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)
Venue: Vinyl Café
4 Perkins St, Newcastle
Contact: David Graham - david@youngwritersfestival.org
Website: https://www.facebook.com/events/1128036770593838/

 

 

Kempsey

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Friday 9th September
5:00 pm (Registration at 4:30 pm)
Venue: Kempsey Library
Corner of Elbow & Tozer streets, West Kempsey
Contact: Alison Pope - alison.pope@kempsey.nsw.gov.au
Website: https://www.kempsey.nsw.gov.au/library/

 

Albury

Featuring Lorin Elizabeth

Friday 9th September
7:30 pm (Registration at 7:00 pm)
Venue: Albury Library Museum
540 Kiewa St, Albury NSW
Contact: Ann-Maree Ellis - AEllis@alburycity.nsw.gov.au
Website: http://www.writearoundthemurray.org.au/

 

Gosford

Featuring TBA

Saturday 10th September
7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)
Venue: The Lounge Room
342 Mann St, Gosford
Contact: Will Small - will@mmad.org.au
Website: https://www.facebook.com/events/119439778482221/

 

Double Bay

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Sunday 11th September
1:00 pm (Registration at 12:30 pm)
Venue: Double Bay Library
451 New South Head Rd, Double Bay
Contact: Jenn Martin - Jenn.Martin@woollahra.nsw.gov.au
Website: http://www.woollahra.nsw.gov.au/library

Workshop:

Sunday 4th September 1:30 - 3:30pm, Double Bay Library, 451 New South Head Rd Double Bay

 

Parramatta

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Tuesday 13th September
7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)
Venue: Shh Centre 4 Hybrid Arts
9 Albert St, Parramatta, NSW
Contact: Troy Wong - troy.gh.w@gmail.com
Website: https://www.facebook.com/ParramattaPoetrySlam/?fref=ts

 

Wagga wagga

Hosted by David Gilbey

Friday 23th September
6:30 pm (Registration at 6:00 pm)
Venue: William Farrer Hotel
Cnr Edward St & Peter St, Wagga Wagga, NSW
Contact: Kate Dunn - director@booranga.com

 

Rockdale

Featuring Philip Wilcox

Saturday 24th September
2:00 pm (Registration at 1:30 pm)
Venue: Rockdale City Library
444-446 Princes Highway, Rockdale
Contact: Natalie Funston - nfunston@rockdale.nsw.gov.au
Website: https://www.rockdale.nsw.gov.au/library/Pages/library.aspx

 

WOLLONGONG

Featuring TBA

Thursday 29th September
7:00 pm (Registration at 6:30 pm)
Venue: Jane's
40 Flinders St, Wollongong, NSW
Contact: Lorin Elizabeth - enoughsaidpoetryslam@gmail.com
Websitehttps://www.facebook.com/poetryinwollongong/

 

GLebe

Hosted by Miles Merrill

Tuesday 4h October
7:30 pm (Registration at 7:00 pm)
Venue: Friend In Hand Pub
58 Cowper St, Glebe, NSW
Cost: $10 (on the door)
Contact: Jack Peck - jack@wordinhand.org
Website: http://www.wordinhand.com

 

 

Click to see some information from previous years
2015