Australian Poetry Slam

The Australian Poetry Slam is a national competition for spoken word artists. Anyone can enter. In 2017, 50 heats will be held in towns, cities and suburbs hold slam heats, in state and territory of Australia. Cafe's, libraries, festivals, community halls, pubs and clubs host these events. Audiences award scores to each poet. The favourite poet from each heat is eligible to compete at a regional or state poetry slam final. The best from each state and territory travel to Sydney, to perform for a packed out audience at the National Final. The national slam champion wins prizes and professional gigs.


Current Australian Poetry Slam champion Arielle Cottingham

Current Australian Poetry Slam champion Arielle Cottingham


7.00pm – 9.30pm

Venue: Sydney Opera House

Who will this nationwide search unearth in 2017?

Judged by randomly chosen members of the crowd, one person will get the chance to perform their own words at the Ubud Readers & Writers Festival in Bali, Byron Writers Festival and Sydney Writers Festivals in 2018.

1 000 poets, 20 000 live audience, 60 events across Australia - all rise to a thunder clap at Sydney Opera House. Selected members of the audience will choose one person to represent Australian Poetry Slam in a tour to writers' festivals worth $11k + a published manuscript by Pitt Street Poetry and a Bundanon Trust writers' retreat.

Host: Miles Merrill

Featuring: Candy RoyalleIan Keteku and Arielle Cottingham with DJ Leonardo De Casio

Tickets: $39 - $54 (plus booking fee)

Book now

The National Poetry Slam Final is the closing event of Story-Fest 2017: 3 days of live literary mayhem (Oct 13-15). Tickets to Story-Fest events on sale now!



Australia Council for the Arts
Create NSW logo
Copyright Agency Cultural Fund 2.jpg

Australian Poetry Slam is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body and supported by the NSW Government through Create NSW, as well as Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.