Australian Poetry Slam

The Australian Poetry Slam is a national competition for spoken word artists. Anyone can enter. In 2017, 50 heats will be held in towns, cities and suburbs hold slam heats, in state and territory of Australia. Cafe's, libraries, festivals, community halls, pubs and clubs host these events. Audiences award scores to each poet. The favourite poet from each heat is eligible to compete at a regional or state poetry slam final. The best from each state and territory travel to Sydney, to perform for a packed out audience at the National Final. The national slam champion wins prizes and professional gigs.

Arielle Cottingham - 2016 Australian Poetry Slam Champion

Arielle Cottingham - 2016 Australian Poetry Slam Champion

Past Winners

Arielle Cottingham

Victorian slam poet Arielle Cottingham was crowned the 2016 Australian Poetry Slam Champion. Cottingham was both the first female winner since 2010 and the first Victorian winner since 2011. Watch her incredible spoken word performance at the Victorian finals held at the Library on 2 September 2016:

Past Australian Poetry Slam winners

Now in its eleventh year, the Australian Poetry Slam has unearthed some amazing talent and enhanced the career opportunities of previous winners.