Australian Poetry Slam

The Australian Poetry Slam is a national competition for spoken word artists. Anyone can enter. In 2017, 50 heats will be held in towns, cities and suburbs hold slam heats, in state and territory of Australia. Cafe's, libraries, festivals, community halls, pubs and clubs host these events. Audiences award scores to each poet. The favourite poet from each heat is eligible to compete at a regional or state poetry slam final. The best from each state and territory travel to Sydney, to perform for a packed out audience at the National Final. The national slam champion wins prizes and professional gigs.

Victorian poetry slam Heats 2018

COULD YOU BE AUSTRALIA'S NEXT POETRY SLAM CHAMPION?

Victorian contact


Rebecca Anthony
State Library Victoria Program Officer
Phone: 03 8664 7534
Email: ranthony@slv.vic.gov.au
Website

Brunswick

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Thursday 14th June
Start Time: 7.30pm (Registrations - 7pm)  
Venue: Brunswick Library
Address: Cnr Sydney Road and Dawson Street
Contact: Heidi Babatsikos HBabatsikos@moreland.vic.gov.au

nagambie

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Thursday 5th July
Time: 7pm (Registrations - 6.30pm)
Venue: Nagambie Library 
Address: 
352 High Street, Nagambie
Contact: Jenny Wyllie jennyw@gvrlc.vic.gov.au

woodend

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Saturday 4th August
Time: 7pm (Registrations - 6.30pm)
Venue: Woodend RSL
Address: 32 Anslow Street, Woodend
Contact: Lulu Cockram woodend@ncgrl.vic.gov.au

wodonga

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Friday 10th August
Time: 7pm (Registrations - 6.30pm)
Venue: Wodonga Library
Address: 126 Hovell Street, Wodonga
Contact: Meaghan Brown mbrown@wodonga.vic.gov.au

watsonia

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Saturday 11th August
Time: 2pm (Registrations - 1.30pm)
Venue: Watsonia Library
Address: 4 - 6 Ibbottson Street, Watsonia
Contact: Lynne Siejka lsiejka@yprl.vic.gov.au

melton

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Friday 17th August
Time: 7pm (Registrations - 6.30pm)
Venue: Melton Library 
Address: 
31 McKenzie Street, Melton
Contact: Jessica Michael jessicami@melton.vic.gov.au

Bayside

POETRY SLAM HEAT
Date: Saturday 18th August
Time: 2pm (Registrations - 1.30pm)
Venue: Brighton Town Hall
Address: Cnr Carpenter St and Wilson St, Brighton
Contact: Lynda Hayton LHayton@bayside.vic.gov.au

 

VICtorian FINAL

See Finals page

WTLOGOsignaturesize.jpg
Australia Council for the Arts
Create NSW logo
Copyright Agency Cultural Fund 2.jpg

Australian Poetry Slam is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body and supported by the NSW Government through Create NSW, as well as Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.